The restoration of old buildings in major cities throughout the world involves enormous expenditure. This money would bring more benefits if it was used to provide new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been long debated that rehabilitation of historical building incurs large sum of money and this amount can be utilized to create infrastructure such as new houses and upgrade our read network. In my opinion both has their own importance in our lives, and it must be an amalgamation of restoring our heritage as well as building new infrastructure.

To begin with, historical buildings plays a vital role in knowing and understanding history associated with it so these buildings must be renovated. These building helps us in knowing its historical importance and facts, which eventually helps a visitor in connecting their thoughts with other relevant information.?? It, also, helps us in re-living the same period and understand how technology has evolved over time. Taj Mahal is one of the seven wonders of the wold and its architectural design is so complex that even with modern technology will face a lot of difficulty if re-created.

Similarly, building new homes are important too. In country like India, where a good portion of population is living in slums with poor hygiene. These houses will certainly help our poor citizen in leading a good life with decent level of living in hygienic surroundings. Our Prime Minister, Mr Modi has envisaged his vision by launching Avas Yojna to allocate homes to 2 crore people living in slums.

Additionally, upgrading our road network is equally important as it connect every nook and corner of our country. Constructing new roads will help in smooth traffic flow and will eventually save in dubious amount of time. Indian government has built Delhi Meerut expressway, which save more than 2hrs of commutation time in rush hours. It now takes just 40 minutes to reach Meerut from Delhi.

To my mind, we must invest funds to restore our historical buildings as well as upgrade or build new infrastructure as they both are equally important. One give understanding of our legacy whereas other assist in creating upgrading our current infrastructure to ease our lives.