The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology.

To what extent do you agree?

It is true that school’s pivotal function is to adjust children with outer world. It is considered that subjects such as arts and music should be discarded as they are not relevant in this technological world. From my perspective, although, we have to prioritize science ant digital technology classes at schools, art and music should not be neglected.

To begin with, the statement that art and music should be removed has some compelling reasons. We live in fast-changing technological era and it is reasonable to concentrate children’s enthusiasm and attention to more contemporary subjects, which would be useful for them and society as well. Indeed, in real life they are expected to confront and solve numerous problems such as how to combat some stubborn diseases or overcome traffic problems, which have become prominent issue in many countries. Therefor it would be effective to dive children into more prosperous subjects in order to solve existing and upcoming challenges.

To continue with, in spite of great deal of technological problems that we have, human being is emotional and social creature and artistic classes are vital for our rounded development. Music an art has been with us for long time and it has been proven that it impacts on brain development significantly. For instance, recent survey conducted by group of neuroscientists from the USA illustrates, that during drawing or singing the part of the children’s brain responsible for communicating and critical thinking activates remarkable. Hence, it would be unwise to remove art and music from subject list as they stimulate brain to perform better.

To conclude, undoubtedly school’s prime mission is to equip children with basic knowledge that they have to implement in later life. It is believed that, music and art subjects should be removed as they are redundant in today’s digital era. From my point, although, we have to prioritize digital subjects, music and art sessions should not be eradicated from school curriculum.