Schools should concentrate on teaching students the academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Subjects such as music and sports are not useful. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been an controversy about whether the core subjects should be consider as the more useful subjects compare with others such as music and sports. From my point of view, although the core subjects will be beneficial to students’ career prospect, other subjects are also important.

There is no doubt that the core subjects has profound influence on students in many ways. On one hand, it provide the basic knowledge to our world which is the reason why most core subjects are compulsory. For example, history class teach the origination of countries and math class help them to build the logical thinking. On the other hand, these subjects promote the career development when students enter the adulthood. Since the competetion in the workplace is getting intensive, i believe it is important for children concentrate on the subjects which can lead to a better career life. To help a youngster reach the norm of our society and being more competetive in the job market, these courses should be emphasis by schools and teachers.

Except the core subjects, there are some courses that maintain the phycological and physical health level of students. Sports class, for instance, can help students relax themselves from the pressure of examination and build up their body. These courses which might be considered as the non-useful for their career life, but it is an essential part of their health.