Some people believe that students should only concentrate on the subject which will benefit to their career life. From my point of view, alternative subjects can also be important and schools should pay attention on these subjects.

The reason why alternative courses play a vital role in student’s life are varied. From one point, these courses are not aiming at teaching utilise knowledge for them, instead, it is for their physical health, which is essencial to their study life. For example, PE class will have a positive effect on students’ eye-sight since it provides time for them to enjoy sunshine and exercise. Furthermore, it has been proved that music and painting classes are able to incent students’ imagination and creation. These skill sets is also important in their career life, especially the creativity skill. It will help them to reach better jobs, or even build up their own companies. Thus it will be rational for schools to arrange extra curriculum.

However, the compulsory courses will provide the knowledge which is the foundation of their career life. These courses provide the basic knowledge of all the prospective career for students, for instance, some students who want to be scientists will have to work on math and physic, while future writers will have to pay attention on literature. Thus, parents and schools consider these are the most important courses of the high school education.

In conclusion, students’ schooling should be focus on both compulsory courses and alternative courses, since both of them had profound effects on their welfare.