Science could help people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Would that be a good or bad development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advancement in technology is helping mankind with longevity through its break-through discoveries. This has both positive and negative aspects which I will discuss in the subsequent paragraphs; although, my thinking incline towards the optimistic view.

One the one hand, the consequences society might have to face, with the research in this field, is the increase in aged population. This will deteriorate the balance, as community will have low youth count which culminates in limited work-force. Consequently, the nation as a whole, will be generating much low revenue for state affairs, while on the other hand, government will have to spend enormous budget for the facilitation of elders such as construction of old-aged homes, pensions and health care. This condition has clearly been observed in Japan where they had to limit the resources spend on people above 65.

On the other hand, this evolution will provide benefits, foremost of which is the healthier lifestyle which people will enjoy. As the discoveries are backed by nutritional researches which not only establish a diet routine but also serve the basis for effective food utilization. For instance, restaurants in Germany follow strict nutritional values helping the nation in both above mentioned fields. Additionally, people will be able to avoid diseases which cause excruciating pain and misery. For instance, scientists are developing drugs for cancer which have allowed tremendous amount of patients to recover.

In conclusion, improvement in health sector will eventually lead towards an increased lifespan. While this could cause both benefits and drawbacks, I, however, believe that the disadvantages are eclipsed by the advantages which is the achievement of perfect physical health and cure of diseases.