Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether the government or private businesses can conduct scientific projects is still questionable among people. In my opinion, both sectors can do it because each one has a different advantage on its own.

On the one hand, I suppose that private corporations should be responsible for scientific inventions. First, those businesses do so well in funding scientific projects until projects are completed and flourished. For example, Elon Musk, a businessman who is the author of several spaceship-launching projects, failed many time due to unpredictable hardships of his projects. However, thanks to his funding from issuing stocks and bonds, he overcame the risk of bankruptcy and has become ahead in AI development field. Second, the owners of companies- related science and technology are often scientists, which means that they own their reputation in their areas and can easily attract talents for their projects. In fact, Tesla used to work for Edison and he invented the 2-dimension electricity during the time he was at Edison’s company.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why scientific research must be under the control of public sectors. Some inventions, such as nuclear weapons, are the national secrets and have tremendous effects on the global security. As a result, the government must control these inventions to ensure that they cannot be leaked out and held by terrorist forces. In terms of the medical area, experiments applied on human are often dangerous and debatable. Thus, medical research has to be done by the government with strict restrictions to protect people’s health and prevent exploiting human for immoral experiments.

In conclusion, discovery and research in science should be conducted by both private and public sectors because each sector has its own advantages. I suggest that the government should make a list of what projects that private companies can follow to reduce the confusion for the private sector.