Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause?

What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

It is true that even today, illiteracy is widespread. While this creates a series of insurmountable barriers for individuals and society, there are steps that the government should take to deal with the problem.

The consequences of illiteracy are many and harmful at different respects. Individually, illiteracy may jeopardize people’s future since it limits their ability to obtain and understand essential information. For example, in Vietnam, those of minority groups are easily exploited by criminals due to their low literacy proficiency and law ignorance. In terms of the social impact, individuals without literacy cannot be involved fully in social and political discourse. As being illiterate, people may struggle with abstract concepts such as discrimination or corruption. As a result, they feel hard to understand major issues, which includes various complex concepts and become hesitant to speak up to change problems.

The government should have measures to defeat illiteracy and its impacts. First, the governmental staff should determine and minimize obstacles that prevent people from education. For example, the authorities may support free meals and accommodation for mountainous- area children so that they can focus on studying rather than earning a living. Besides, the government should have campaigns and incentives to motivate illiterate people to join supplement classes. Those classes will offer people not only reading and writing skills but also essential social and scientific knowledge so that they can broaden their mind.

In conclusion, illiteracy has negative impacts on people. However, I believe that there are several ways that the government can do to address this problem.