As parts of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many advocates that short oversee studying programs should be applied for students to help them to learn more other cultures and languages. I agree with this notion, but still suggest another way that is suitable for every one.

On the one hand, I agree that short-term exchange programs should be added to the curriculum to value student’s linguistic knowledge and culture mindset. First, living in other countries will force students to frequently talk with local people every day if they want to do basic transactions such as buying foods or asking for the directions. Students will have no choice but listening carefully the conversations and then promptly respond to make conversations continue, which soon levels up their language skills. Second, traveling to a foreign place helps students to get to know more about a new culture. For example, when living in Canada, students learn that they should help the homeless without judging because there are various reasons to being poor. Thanks for that, students have become more open-minded and benevolent.

On the other hand, studying abroad is not the only way for students to interact with languages and cultures. Nowadays, with the omnipresence of the Internet, students are able to practice their language skills through watching TV series, which results the same output as studying abroad. For example, many students who show a good command of English shared that they only shadowing characters in the Friends series to improve their English skills. Additionally, the pervasion of technologies also allows students to discover an unfamiliar culture easily in their home country. That is why many students can know what Japanese students, for example, do daily at school by only watching Youtube.

In conclusion, while living in other countries significantly benefits students and should be encouraged in school programs, I think it is not the only way for students to be knowledgeable about linguistics and cultures. In fact, students can sit at home to gain these kinds of knowledge through the Internet.