Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government, rather than by private companies. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The incredibly fast pace of technological growth, and consequently the recent commercial break-throughs achieved by scientists has drawn several private corporations’ attention into making huge investments in scientific research. However, this upward trends appears to be under fire by those raising doubts as to whether the private sector is competent enough. Personally, I tend to align myself with the group advocating government’s domination over research related to critical issues.

On the one hand, there are some people subscribing to the idea that strongly advocates private firms effective co-operation in conducting studies. It is often argued that organizations which are being run by private shareholders benefit from higher degrees of freedom when it comes to decision-making; thus, scientists’ studies are more probable to lead to desirable results. A further argument in favour of private sector’s intervention in scientific areas might be the public concern regarding the amount of money being spent on dead-end research. A sizeable number of people explicitly condemn the government for the so-called squandering of the national budget on investigations which utterly failed to meet their specified objectives.

Although opponents’ argument seems to be sensible to a certain extent, I tend to refute any further engagement of private companies in research, especially those of vital importance. One serious hazard interwoven with mandating corporation to carry out essential studies would be the lack of transparency in private sector. There is no practical measure to appraise the real upshot of corporations’ collaboration. In addition, some companies might try to conceal their failures so as to maintain their reputation; hence, there is likely to lose both time and capital without reaching a positive result. Moreover, greed can sometimes pervert companies of their main cause. An illustration of this could be Afex Corporation, having figured out potential profits involved with their innovative drug, they ridiculously increased the price of their products; thus, this vital medicine has slipped of less affordable families’ grasp.

Taking all above-mentioned points into considerations, it does not seem far-fetched to arrive at a concluding view that although there are some rational arguments against government’s domination over scientific research, we should not explicitly deny the risks involved. Given to what have been mentioned, I strongly support government’s predominant role in all principal studies.