Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people still continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions for this?

Despite the knowledge that some activities may do harm to health, a large number of people still engage in such activities. The reluctance to break out of old habits, in my opinion, should be deemed as one important cause. To tackle this problem, each individual should gain sufficient inner strength to defeat their “bad self” by seeking support from families and friends

Common scientific knowledge can point out drawbacks of certain activities, but what keeps us from recognizing the elephant in the room is the hesitation to give up our old habits. That is because attempts to break a habit or a living style that has been sticking with us for a long time are considered extremely difficult and daunting. A good example of this case may be smoking. No matter how thorough they know about cigarettes’ detrimental effects, they still find themselves unable to stop relying on them. The lack of determination, therefore, becomes a major impediment to more positive changes

While battling with our coward and hesitant selves is not an easy feat, gradual accumulation of determination may be a good cornerstone for the long journey. One way to achieve this is to count on our families and friends. Together we can, for instance, make a detailed plan to cut down the frequency of activities that caused harm to our life. Even when you feel like going astray, your companions are still there to provide supportive interventions. Daunting as it sounds, this is the important step to getting out of the dangerous lukewarm zone of ourselves

All in all, one of the major causes of people continuing to adopt unhealthy activities is the hesitation to get out of old habits, which is further caused by a lack of determination. A practical rectification is to seek constant help from families and friends to maintain the long-term determination