Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

There are different approaches by which criminals can be punished. Although the prisons have been considered as a severe punishment, they cannot be quite effective as many as the education and job training. It appears that both the education and training are most efficient. I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, the governments can employ the criminals in various positions meaning that those who commit a crime usually need to learn how to use their skills and abilities in a correct way. Thus, if the states spend the maintenance of prisons' costs on educating criminals, the criminals will be able to change into individuals who are more beneficial to their societies. In addition, a second and perhaps most significant benefit of the training and employing them as workforces is that the governments can implement some projects such as community services with no extra expenditure. This means that criminals must do these types of projects instead of staying in the prison. As a result they do not have to be paid the salary because it is just their penalty.

It is true that for some crimes such as murder should be considered severe penalties so that it can be said that the education is not efficient in order to punish them. Despite this, it seems that according to some research, those who just have been sentenced for sending to prison would often commit the same crime after coming back to societies. This is because they mostly need to be taught about how they can have a normal lifestyle like others.

To conclude, the prisons have been considered as a method to deal with criminals. However, it seems to me that considering some centers in which criminals could be educated about different types of job according to their abilities can be more beneficial.