Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

Crime in modern society is increasing at an alarming rate. Some people advocate that prison sentence is not an effective way to deal with law-offenders, and educating them as well as providing the vocational training can help in rehabilitation to a great extent; others, however, argue that this lenient attitude towards criminal has a potential to raise the number of criminal cases. I would the former view and discuss the arguments to support my case.

Firstly, the criminal justice system ensures a fair trial, and criminals are sentenced to the gravity of the crime committed by them. Society needs to ensure that once the prison sentences are served, criminals should get an opportunity to earn a decent income, and a second chance to live respectfully. Education and vocational training tend to enable them to expand their horizons and to find an employment opportunity as a law-abiding citizen. In fact, the lack of employment is one of the major factors why crimes are committed in the first place. This may lead to a reduction in repeat offenders, leading to an overall reduction in crimes.

Finally, those who argue against the idea point out that it can be a waste of valuable time and resources if prisoners are not inclined to adaptation and not ready to change their behavior. However, it is difficult to identify if a criminal wants to leave his criminal life or not, enabling them to learn and providing professional training can help them realize a potential upside of leaving their past life behind.

In summary, although the idea of education and job training for criminals looks humane and effective, authorities should take serious steps to ensure that prison is equipped with required resources to carry out these activities efficiently.