Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Physical punishment to instill discipline in children has been an age-old practice in certain demographics of society. These people claim that chastising is the best way to raise a well-behaved child. This essay will argue why beating a child is completely unacceptable.

Parents always want their children to behave in a proper manner and using physical force against their tantrums seems the easiest option for some. Children and especially teenagers are usually very stubborn and defiant and tend to do things in their own way. Sometimes, they could be very persistent in their unreasonable demands which are impossible for their parents to fulfill. For instance, a child can continuously ask for ice-cream even though there is already an infection in their teeth. Additionally, children can be ignorant about some important things like their safety. Studies suggest that children can partake in dangerous activities just to be appreciated by their peers. These behaviours in children make it difficult for parents to manage them and they go for corporal punishment.

Despite some unreasonable behaviours of the children, the idea of disciplining them by smacking is completely preposterous. This idea of using force against someone weaker to get your way can be deeply ingrained in the psychology of the child. For example, a boy once grown-up can use the same method on their partner or wife to get them to act in a particular way. Also, many recent studies have proven that children behave in the most favourable manner when they see their parents as their friends instead of authority above them. Overall, there are much better options out there rather than flogging a child which is harmful to the child and as well for society in general.

This essay argued that parents who chose violence against their offspring have a flawed understanding of children's behaviour and should be taught about the right practices while dealing with their kids. In my opinion, beating children can never be justified and governments around the world should introduce laws against such practices.