Smoking not only harms the smoker but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is a bad habit that is practiced by people all over the world. Since smoking can harm not only smokers but also non-smokers, many people want it to be banned in public places. I completely agree with prohibiting smoking in such areas and will explain why in this essay.

The most persuasive reason for a ban on smoking is because of the harm it causes on health. Since smoking can leave nicotine in the air which is a harmful substance, a non-smoker can inhale it. Inhaling nicotine can damage the lungs and levers and lead to health diseases such as cancer, heart disease, and asthma. If smoking is not banned in public places, then people who do not smoke will be exposed to toxic fumes and health risks. Therefore, non-smokers should not face this kind of threat when they are doing activities in public places.

Aside from the health risks smoking can possess, it can also damage the environment. As smoking can increase the amount of carbon-di-oxide in the environment, it will pollute the air. Since everyone is entitled to clean air, banning smoking is the best way to protect the environment. For example, In Bangladesh, smoking is prohibited in public places and if someone smokes at parks, beaches, or roads, he will be fined. Such a ban can curb the amount of smoking in public places and ensure compliance and protection for all.

To conclude, smoking should be banned in places like parks, beaches, public offices, public transportations, and roads in order to protect the health of non-smokers and save the environment from pollution. In my opinion, smoking has no place in areas open to public.