Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Spending of common man’s tax money on the preservation of art has long been a point of contention between historians and the taxpayers and there have been multiple recordings in history regarding the same.

Preserving and promoting arts are two aspects, which kingdoms of past and governing bodies of the present, recognize to be revenue generating avenues, in the form of foreign tourism, cultural promotions and festivals, auctions (for auctioning works of art), and so on. Of late, governments take a very keen interest towards art and cultural activities and are pooling in funds, as it not only acts as a method of luring in foreign tourism, thereby bringing in revenue, but also, as a means to identify with our cultural background, which not only enables us to take root in our values more, but also enables to propagate the good values from our culture to the visitors of other cultural backgrounds. It has become a thing of such prime importance that governments across the world are setting up dedicated ministries, cabinets towards development and preservation of culture and art and indulging in more cross-country talks on imbibing the best of other cultures.

However, in the midst of this altruistic venture, it should not be forgotten, that finances are a very vital cog in the nation’s running and it has to be continually monitored despite, being it for good intentions. A cap should be fixed on the spending on Art promotion and preservation and this should be regularly tallied with the revenue that is getting generated out of it. Finally, it all boils down, to viability. As the old adage goes, it does not make any sense to starve the child and feed the pet. A government’s primary responsibility boils down to the welfare of the people and in the face of it, all other things, even art should take a backseat.

Art is still considered to be an integral and intrinsic part of any civilized society and not only represents the cultural identity of the society, but also, acts as a trace of the society’s origin and should be of national importance, however, welfare of the people, if not of greater importance, should be equally prioritized and the funds channelled accordingly.