Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantage of both methods and give your own opinion

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Teaching children at home was a trend which was very much traceable across history in all the royal lineages as well as affluent families, the primary reason being, that they felt their child could learn much more, if special focus and attention was provided. This is nothing new and is very much reminiscent with our history. However, in the current century, that we live in, teaching children at home, apart from the attention and focus aspect, ensures that they are in a more safeguarded environment, with a much tailored to suit the child academic schedule and a much more flexible approach to studies. It helps the child develop a sense of security and is more versatile.

As an evidence to support the above, my friend’s daughter, has private tuitions and her academic schedule is more customized towards what she likes and shows an interest in. Her daughter is a good dancer and participates regularly in reality shows being hosted and hence, unlike others of her age, she doesn’t have time to go to school and hence takes private tuitions. Her private tuitions are more angled towards improving her social skills, art forms like dance & music and thankfully, her parents with a much broader aspect, have burdened her with less number of redundant subjects.

Be that as it may, I personally feel, a child’s development is much more varied, rounded and complete, when they go to school. Old fashioned as it may sound, but, psychologists and researchers indicate, more the child is exposed to the society, better it imbibes, grows and matures. Maturity levels, coping with failures are much better and more pronounced in children who go to school, rather than, learning at home. The children tend to meet and interact with lot of other children, learn inter-personal skills, learn to respect orders and discipline themselves, when they interact with their teachers and learn to handle victories and losses in a more dignified way.

Though all the above mentioned facets of child development is not limited only by going to school, they are definitely more pronounced and rounded in children who are made to attend school along with little children of their age, rather than children who take private tuitions. The weightage is more shifted towards children going to school.