In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.What is your opinion on this?

It is true that children are not allowed to act alone in some areas of America, especially in deprived communities. In my opinion, curfew is a useful way to protect children, but we cannot ignore the freedom of children.

First of all, one of the main benefits of curfew is safety. There is no doubt that the rate of crime keeps the high level in the economically deprived communities. Some illegal behaviors such as robbery or thief are very common at night. Curfew means that these problems can be avoided. Another benefit of curfew is that stay out all night can be avoided. As teenagers, they cannot fully understand the consequences of their actions and don't know how to protect themselves from possible dangers. So their parents always worry about their kids being out late at night into trouble.

However, there are some arguments that a curfew should not be imposed. One is that we cannot limit a children’s freedom in the name of safety. Local Authorities should build a comfortable and peaceful environment for our children such as installing more cameras or increasing night patrols to deter criminals rather than restrict children’s freedom to protect their safety. Also, in order to raise the safety awareness of the students, safety education should be promoted in the school. Freedom is as important as security, we cannot sacrifice freedom for safety.

As discussed above, although curfew is an effective way to protect the children's safety, it is not worth promoting. We should analyze the root cause of this situation instead of restricting their freedom.