In some areas in the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night, unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion about this?

Certain regions in the United States of America have introduced curfew hours at night, during which teenagers are prohibited to roam around freely on their own. While such policies may protect the children from illegal activities, the question is if this the solution to growing crime rates?

The most compelling reason for such restrictions could be due to high crime rates in certain areas. Teenagers under 16 often fall prey to mugging, rape, drug abuse and scams despite of the best effort from their parents and community they live in. Furthermore, experiencing such events could disturb them mentally and physically at a tender age and cause negative impact that could be brought into their adulthoods. Whereas such rules would help to reduce their exposure to illicit activities, they may also help to make the best use of their time for studies.

Despite the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe such restrictions may not always work and only solve part of the problem. What If a teenager decide to sneak out of the house without informing their primary care givers? Whereas such restriction would not work in every situation, there may be a sudden need or medical emergency where a 15 year old have to step outside. As criminal activities happen during the day as well as the night, teenagers may still fall in trap to such activities. If the government genuinely wants to solve this problem, then they need to step up the law enforcement levels in the areas high crime rates.

To conclude with, curfew hours for teenagers might not be a complete remedy to the law and order problem in the United States. While such measures may work as a short term solution, in long run policy makers have to look at the big picture rather than restricting movements of teenagers.