Some people say the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money.

How might having a lot of money make people happy?

What other things in life can make people happy?

It is an undeniable fact that wealth is quite important in one’s life and there are many who spend their lives in the pursuit of wealth. However, there are others who believe that being happy is does not mean that one has to chase materialistic things but happiness can be achieved through other things besides wealth.

The most compelling reason for people to believe that having a ton of money can solve all problems is due the fact that everything is commoditized. Every human need or want is productized and available commercially these days. In addition, owning certain things in life is considered as mark of being successful. Although one may really need it or not, owning fast cars, expensive mansions and indulging in exotic food has been on everybody’s bucket list and money servers the means to achieve such ends creating a notion of psychological superiority.

On the other hand, there are individuals who seek pleasure by associating themselves with a purpose or belonging towards their families, community or even humanitarian causes. Despite of earning less money compared to others, some individuals feel quite happy when bonding with spouse, children or parents. To cite an example, individuals who work in the military to protect their nations. Even though they are not paid as much, they are still willing to sacrifice their lives to protect their motherland. Human emotion of patriotism and sense of belonging are other things apart from money that add a value to individual lives in their pursuit of happiness.

To conclude with, although an individual’s survival would be in question without sufficient money, there are other things like philanthropy or family bonding that could also bring joy and contentment to one’s life