Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people believe that top performing athletes deserve significantly higher compensation, others hold the opinion that it’s not justified compare to other professions. In my opinion it is important to value sports talent by offering them higher monetary benefits as they can give back to society as well.

On one hand of the argument there are people who hold the view that sports professionals are paid exorbitantly, some of the compelling reasons are as follows. Firstly, sports professionals do not bring any tangible benefits to trade or economy compared to scientist, teachers, politicians or civil services personals, who actually solve common day problems and improve our lives. Furthermore, many athletes and sportsmen get involved doping cases, match fixing scams or endorsing substandard while products clinching medals. As a consequence they do not focus on sport or playing their game and instead end up getting involved in many antisocial and legally unacceptable activities upon gaining their celebrity status.

Despite of the above argument, I am of the perspective that higher remuneration to athletes is justified. Indeed one reason for my view is due to the fact that star sports professionals demonstrate extraordinary endurance , hard work and physical talent that can motivate everyone to lead to healthy life style. Additionally, sports starts can bring a spirit of patriotisim and unity amongst their fans. As a result of such dignity and pride they can unite diverse nations which is priceless. Another reason for my view is that celebrity status sport stars can easily convey social awareness messages. For example the social awareness campaign about recycling plastic by Indian cricketers has been well received.

In conclusion, while both views are commonly held in the society, I believe that there are definitely some athletes who deserver high remuneration compared to the rest. Given the situation it is recommended that celebrated athletes consider their social and moral influences to bring positive changes to society.