In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

Parents in some American states make sure their teenagers do not step out late at night unless a guardian or an adult accompanies them. In my opinion, a 'curfew' is the correct measure adopted by concerned families to make sure their youngsters do not mix with lousy peer groups or endanger their lives by exposing themselves to the harmful elements of the society.

Teenagers are impressionable youngsters. Therefore, it becomes imperative to have rules laid for them. Firstly, by making sure that the children do not leave their house after a particular time safeguards them from the wrong company of other youngsters, who might either be rebellious in nature or could be doing drugs. Additionally, teenagers from good homes will not defy their parent's rules and stay out late. Accompanying mother or father would make sure that they are safe and surrounded by a positive peer group. Secondly,crimes against children during their teenage years have risen exponentially. Several kidnappings had taken place when the children were alone. For example, a few years ago, a newspaper article reported how a 16-year-old boy sneaked out of his parent's house in Sacramento and, eventually killed. It ought to become mandatory for youngsters to abide by the rules of not stepping out after a stipulated time; otherwise, such heinous crimes would never stop.

To sum it up, keeping our children safe should be our priority and a curfew seems to be the best step towards it. Telling their children to be home by eight and to chaperone them where ever necessary, keeps them protected. Therefore, I hope that parents abide by these rules.