Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people while others disagree Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Modern technology has been in the crust of human activities in recent years with the advent of gadgets and solutions that are changing our societies. To some people, a key result of modern technology is the increasing dichotomy being created between the rich and the poor while some think otherwise. Although there are valid points for each of the position, I will discuss both agree with the notion that modern technology is widening the gap between the rich and poor.

As effective and efficient as modern technology has proven to be, there has been questions on the affordability of new gadgets and technological products. Because of the amount of efforts and resources invested in the researches that birthed these technological breakthroughs, inventors are forced to make their products pricey in order to recover the cost of research. Consequently, many poor people are unable to purchase these new gadgets; whereas, the rich have no difficulty acquiring products of modern technology. For example, prices of mobile phones ranges from 50 US dollars to 5,000 US dollars. Although, the poor may be able to afford the cheap mobile phones, the difference in functionality compared with the expensive phones that rich people own creates a gap between these two categories.

The opposing view, however, argues that there has always been a gap between the rich and the poor before the recent breakthroughs in technology. In fact, all through the civilizations the world has experienced since existence, there has always been a difference between the rich and the poor, where the poor are unable to purchase products that denotes expensive lifestyles. Therefore, it would be incorrect to assume that recent advancement in technology is widening the gap between the rich and the poor.

In conclusion, I would agree that although modern technology is not solely responsible for the increasing differentiation between the poor and the rich, it is a contributing factor.