In some countries, children are spending more and more time playing by themselves and less time playing with other children. What are the reasons? Is it positive or negative developments?

Youngsters in few countries are enjoying mostly by themselves rather that spending leisure time with friends. As far as my opinion is concerned, I strongly feel that it is a negative development which is evident in their lifestyle.

Firstly, the reason behind less involvement with others is that there is least participation of parents in children’s life. Since most of the children these days are growing up in a nuclear family, parents hardly get any time to be with their wards. Both the guardians work hard to fulfil the family needs. This in turn, is making kids more of a private person and they are becoming hesitant in sharing their lives with others.

Secondly, social media and virtual world is also the main cause of this problem. One might argue that it is good to use social media for contacts, but on the contrary, children are getting uninterrupted time in virtual world and other unwarranted things that causes them to drift apart from normal life. Moreover, kids are also not being monitored making them distant from social life. Instead of having real friends, they count more on their virtual friends.

To overcome the above listed problems, some volunteer groups can be formed to take care of children. In addition to this, workshops can be conducted to help children overcome their shyness and make them participate in some recreational activities with their friends and families. The online activities, for which they spend maximum time should be monitored and a routine should be followed with more focus on offline activities. Grand-parents and cousin involvement will be much helpful.