In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want.To what extent should children have to follow rules?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples fr

There are significant differences in the way children are brought up in various countries. These differences tend to be linked to the culture and traditions of countries. These contradictory approaches frequently lead to the debate of identifying the best approach for a child upbringing. This essay discusses both the sides and provides concluding remarks.

On the one hand, it seems easier to instill discipline in children at the early age because children are able to assimilate these values easily. This leads them to become a well-disciplined person who values the rules in the later part of life, which can help them achieve not only personal goals but also professional goals, leading to a successful career, and probably, a contented life. For example, In Japan, Parents as well as teachers, expect children to maintain a self-disciplined lifestyle from an early stage of life.

On the another hand, strict behavior towards children in the early stage can be deterrent to their physical and emotional wellbeing. This can lead to higher stress levels, probably impacting the academic performance. It is undeniable fact that freedom has a potential to foster creativity, enabling them to challenge contemporary rules and age-old customs. This helps society to develop as a whole. In addition, Freedom also fosters individualism and self-esteem. Rather than forcing children to follow certain rules, they are made aware of the consequences of certain action through healthy discussion. This can lead to children following certain rules or habit voluntarily. In the Western countries, especially in the US, children are given enough independence to carry out their tasks with minimum intervention from parents or schools.

Overall, the advantages of providing freedom to children outweigh the disadvantages. It seems to me that giving independence to children aids greatly to the overall development of children.