In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, criminal trial have been televised in some countries to allow the public an opportunity to watch them. I believe, although there are advantages, making trials public can lead to too much injustice and other problems.

One of the main advantages of allowing court trials to be broadcast on TV is that the entire judicial system is open to the public to watch and superwise. In some countries where the judicial system is corrupt, it would be a step forward to more justice by televising trials as it is overseen by the public. Another benefit is that, opening the doors of the court room allows the public rights to information. The public have a right to know the details on trials so that they can form their own openions. This is important in countries where government has restricted public access to information.

On the other hand, allowing trials to be shown on TV ha serious consequences. Firtsly, the public might form openions which are based on mass media bias and a lack of understanding of the legal system. This public and media pressure might affect the outcome of the trial and justice will not be served. Secondly, the legal team might see this as an opportunity to promote themselves wich means they may be destracted and not put all their attention in defending or prosecuting. Lastly, the jury is supposed to decide the verdict but by televising the trial,th enitre public removes the effectiveness of a jury system.

In conclusion, regardless of the benefits, the disadvantages of an open televised trial can be devastating due to public and media pressure which might result in a lack of justice.