In some countries that have already achieved affluence, any additional economic wealth would not make people happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many aver the happiness of citizens of a developed country will not increase even if state's economic wealth keeps growing steadily. I agree with this prospect, and the reasons for my position will be discussed in detail below.

Firstly, if the results of economic growth are shared equally among folks, the feeling of joyfulness may not be affected by the additional gain because the standards of living in the country are already high, and alterations in the quality of life are not seen as essential or even desirable. To illustrate, a person is paid three thousand dollars per month, and he spends monthly ten hundred dollars on living; consequently, the additional increase in his salary will mean that more money will be put on a bank account.

Secondly, those who inhabit prosperous countries frequently have had all the needed conditions to have a decent life since they were born. Interestingly, psychological and sociological studies that were conducted in Germany, Spain, Italy, Norway, France and Japan indicate the majority of citizens in those states are unhappy; moreover, the researchers manage to demonstrate that economic growth does not lead to feeling joy. The scientists speculate that the absence of a necessity to fight for resources and struggle to achieve goals makes the interviewees' lives purposeless and meaningless; those emotions create unhappiness.

Finally, in some rich countries, the results of economic success are not distributed among people fairly. Sometimes, the additional resources are being focused in the hands and pockets of a small group of elite, and this situation creates a chasm between the wealthy and the rest of the population and those who do get nothing become unhappy and dissatisfied. The current political situation in the UK and the USA with regular riots and protests may exemplify this claim nicely.

In my opinion, growing wealth in an already rich country will not make people happier but could fill their lives with discontent and negative feelings, mainly if the growth results are not allocated equally among citizens.