In some countries that have already achieved affluence, any additional economic wealth would not make people happier.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, economic conditions have been developed in all countries in the world. However, developing countries have better achievement in increasing their happiness indicator rather than developed countries. I agree with this statement, and I will try to elaborate reasons for this phenomenon in this essay.

Competition is the first reason why people in developed countries are no happy that they were. Due to the economic growth, companies put themself in competition. This condition creates new rules for workers. Employees are forced to work harder than before to avoid being beaten by other companies regarding technology, quality and quantity. Take mobile phone companies as an example. They compete to develop new technology to attract consumers. On the other hand, people in developing countries are focused more on building their businesses. Instead of competing with each other, many of the companies are categorized as small to medium companies.

Moreover, people of developed countries already have wealth to enjoy a better standard of living. Increased wealth will not add any happiness to their day-to-day life. On the other hand, people of developing countries can enjoy a better standard of living due to economic growth, which makes them happier because it is like that when you are already a billionaire. A few billion in your wealth don't make you happy or sad, but you earn only a few hundred bucks. Suddenly your earnings increased up to millions then definitely people will feel satisfied with this development.

Another reason is the time spent. When there are many competitions among companies, there is more work to do for the workers. This will lead to more time spent in the workplace rather than spending time in their private life. Unconsciously, these companies increase the stress level of their workers, which means people in developed countries are no happy than before. In the opposite situation, people in developing countries become more satisfied because they can earn more money for their family than they were, even though they have to spend more time in the workplaces. It decreases their stress level.

From the reasons I mentioned above, it is clear that economic growth can bring wealth to both countries, which is the good side. Still, the work pressure and the time spent are not worth it for some people, especially in developed countries, which are the dark sides of economic growth. It also shows that wealth is not the main guarantee for people to gain happiness in life; there is quality time with friends and families too.