Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, but other people think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen at TV and the Internet. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Would the Internet substitute the practical travelling abroad, in terms of letting people learn about foreign cultures? Personally, I believe this contention overestimates the function of the Internet, and my reasons will be expounded as below.

The foremost reason against this assertion is that the essence of a culture is much more than simple images. In terms of helping tourists have a deep understanding of local culture in certain areas, real-world international travelling, instead of the Internet, is still a primary means by which a person can immerse themselves in a live cultural environment grasp the cultural cores. For example, by face-to-face interaction with local people, including closely observing, talking, listening, a tourist can directly and practically feel every detail about local traditions, social manners and rules, the way of speaking and thinking, and religious taboos. In comparison, it is impossible for an Internet user to recover the multi-dimensional cultural experience by merely reading texts and pictures on the screen.

Besides, I have significant doubt about the assertion that all information can be accessed on the Internet. For the sake of politics or economy, many counties are still beyond the coverage of the Internet, such as South Korea and some countries in Africa. Similarly, in some religious areas like Tibet, local culture information is rare on the Internet, because visitors are forbidden to take photos inside historical buildings, temples, and religious rituals. That is so saying, practical travelling is the only way for people to watch and appreciate these cultures.

Admittedly, the reason why people agree that the Internet can take the place of real-world travelling is that modern computing technology has been able to fully reveal basic cultural elements. One feature of the Internet is its multi-media function, which can place the audience into a virtual world by displaying text, pictures, videos and audio about a culture simultaneously. In other words, all visual information about a culture, from traditional clothes to old buildings to artistic works, can be available for viewers at home by browsing the Internet.

In conclusion, this argument is indefensible. Although the Internet is capable of furnishing easy and convenient access to the description of a culture based on texts, images and videos, an overall and in-depth understanding of a culture are more than what a person sees and hears. What is more, as for the countries excluded from the Internet, it is only through practical journeys that people can really touch those cultures.