In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that governments should levy a tariff on junk food because the number of health risks associated with consuming this kind of food is on the rise. This essay agrees that a higher rate of tax should be paid by fast food companies. Firstly, this essay will discuss the fact that alcohol and tobacco companies already pay higher taxes and secondly, discuss how higher taxes would raise prices and lower consumption.

Higher excise on liqueur and cigarettes has proven to be successful at suppressing the harm caused by these substances. This revenue has been used to treat health problems associated with these products and has proven useful in advertising campaigns warning people about the dangers of alcohol and tobacco abuse. Tax from fast food could be used in the same way. The United Kingdom is the prime example, where money from smokers is used to treat lung cancers and heart diseases.

Increasing taxes would raise prices and lower consumption. Fast food firms would pass on these taxes to consumers in the form of higher prices and this would lead to people not being able to afford junk food because it is expensive. Junk food would soon become a luxury item and it would only be consumed occasionally which would be less harmful to the general public's health. Fir instance, the cost of organic food has proven prohibitively expensive for most people and that is why only a small percentage of population buy it regularly.

In conclusion, junk food should be taxed at a higher rate because of good precedent set by alcohol and tobacco and the fact that the increased cost should alleviate the amount of fast food people buy.