In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from death health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is clear that levying unhealthy foods becomes a subject of controversial topics in recent years because of its effects on society. Although some claim that raising the tax rate on this kind of food is the ineffective policy, it definitely bestows a net positive benefit for the community.

There are some advantages of this strategy to personal life. First, the eye-catching benefit is the reducing of high-level modern lifestyle diseases in number, such as diabetes and obesity. In fact, since consuming too much fast food is among the leading causes of mortality as those diseases are supposed to be the major reasons of some health issues, like heart attack and stroke irrespective of age or gender, eating less of non-nutritive foods allows people get a better health. Second, it’s also a good way that helps maintain a happy marriage. Actually, if family members spend more time to prepare the meals together, all members would be closer to each other, which makes them become more sympathy and understanding that are important for a long successful marriage.

In addition, the excise taxes offer a lot of benefits for society. First, by imposing a higher tax on non-nutritious foods, government can collect an additional revenue that stimulates the development of communities. In fact, the massive excess taxing amount on unhealthy foods can use to subsidize other nutritious products or ensure the public programs in the important sectors better funded, including education and health, which definitely helps improve the quality of life. Second, this policy also benefits the environment in some ways. This means that there’re more green areas instead of manufactures since the decrease in the consumption of unhealthy food accompanies by the increase in the need of healthier food, especially vegetable-related products, which resolves the global warming situation at some point.

In conclusion, although the less nutritious foods should not be subject to a higher tax at some level, this strategy brings a myriad of advantages for the community. By accompanying by other strategies, this policy is conducive to the economic development without harmfulness to the public health.