In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

It is quite common nowadays for young students in many countries to have a break from studies after graduating from high school and enrol in a job or travel. Even though it can generate some issues, this will be helpful for them to gain more experience while saving money.

The prime advantage of this trend is that the youth will gain more practical knowledge and learn about the world, whereas in school they get to learn only about theories. If one chose to travel, he will meet various types of people to deal with and that will widen his views about life. If a student opts to get into a job, it will not only give him a boost in the future job market but also makes him realize the implementation part of the things they learn in college. Moreover, working for a year before college will help them to become financially independent and also save up for the college years. In Canada, for instance, a survey done by Researcher.net website reported that 70% of the Canadians become independent after high school because of this trend.

However, there are several risks associated with taking time off between studying years. Firstly, students get caught up in the earning process and give up higher education for their job. Young adults may find it difficult to re-adapt to academic lifestyle and will not be able to concentrate on study materials. Secondly, this might result in them working in lower-level jobs. Compromising education has its trade-off of not being able to get into a high paid job they might have landed on if they continued studies. For example, the Canadian government found that 26% of students who skip college never enter high paid jobs.

In conclusion, even though there are few considerable risks in taking a year off from studies, the benefits can be worthwhile given that young people will go back to college.