In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. What are the reasons for this?

It is undoubtedly true that in the past people were staying together in a family whereas nowadays they prefer to stay on their own. This essay will discuss the reason for this, followed by a conclusion at the end.

The main reason why people prefer to stay alone is that they yearn for freedom because a person can do whatever he wants to do in the house since no other members are there to lecture them when they live apart. It is to say that while staying with other members in the house, individuals can not live life as per their preference; Given that If one is living alone, then he can do all the activities he desire, such as playing loud music, eating anywhere in the house, and parting late night. Thus restriction-free life without anyone's interference is possible when one stays lonely in his apartment.

Another reason is that the economic condition of an individual has improved in recent years, which means they can now support themselves and be independent. While in the recent past this was not possible, people were dependent on each other because the income of individual was not enough due to limited earnings of a person as the economy of many countries were not performing well, this is not the case now. Take India, for example, more and more people stay alone and work away from their cities as they get excellent employment opportunities and good salary. As a result, they can afford to live alone with a much better lifestyle then they used to live.

To conclude, while in the past people stayed with their families, nowadays a sem of people prefer to stay alone because not only they are financially capable of supporting them, but also they want privacy in their life.