In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the increasing crime rate, large part of the population prefer having weapons like gun, sword with them or at their residence for personal or family safety. In my opinion, having guns might give rise in number of criminal cases like murders, shoot-outs however, a complete restriction on having weapons at home might not reduce the shooting issues.

Keeping weapons at home give an easy access to use them irrespective of severity of events i.e. even if a small fight happens with someone, people might use weapons to over-power. Most people not only use the weapon for safety but also to demonstrate social power, status and thus carry weapons at public places and can use them at their own discretion.

Though, having a weapon at home bring more security to people and make them self-dependence. The government allows possession of weapon for personal in army, police services, affluent class people or if anyone who is getting regular threat calls. The weapons help them to secure themselves from any unplanned event at market place or a terror threat at home. For example Managing Director, big businessmen carry weapons or posses one at home for their safety as they are more vulnerable to attacks. Hence, In today's we cannot completely ignore the importance of having weapons. And if we do put a restriction on having a weapon at home, people will find out way to procure it from illegal weapon manufacturer or suppliers, who exist in market and supply unregistered weapons at a very low cost. This might lead to increase in trade of illegal weapons simultaneously, increasing risk of shooting.

Concluding the above argument, I believe that allowing possession of weapons at home trigger increase in shooting cases thus government should monitor issuance of weapons cases on case basis with proper assessment of situation. Also, while issuing the license to carry the weapons proper documentation need to be done which have record of type of gun issued, number of bullets given so on and so forth.