In some countries, prison is the most common solution to the problem of crime. However, the more effective solution is to provide people with better education so that they do not commit a crime? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some countries of the world consider imprisonment as the key solution to deter crime, but it is often argued that imparting education is the best method to rehabilitate people. I believe that incarcerating criminals can deter crime more significantly rather than educating people.

Admittedly, life in a person is considered to be very harsh devoid of all sorts of comforts and luxuries. The time spent in prison is full of remorse and reminds some criminals of the mistake that they had committed. As a result, a person, who is not serial criminal and is not used to live in an extreme environment, undoubtedly, turns into a good citizen after release from prison. For example, the finding of a recent study revealed that petty offenders like shop-lifters have preferred to do either a business or a job after their incarcerating, resulting in a reduction in recidivism cases. Therefore, criminals’ detention not only seems to change people’s perspective on life but also results in a reduction at the crime rate.

Furthermore, instead of educating people, strict punishment like confinement on breaching of law exemplifies the severity of committing a crime, and people tend to become more continuous in abiding law. In addition to abiding law, it transmits awareness to all strata of the society, especially to youngsters that breakers could not be retributed. For instance, recent investigation on different countries reveals that countries sanctioning strict punishment to offenders tend to have crime-free ambiance than countries choose to reform its citizens because people are afraid of the confinement. Therefore, fear of prison can curb more crime in society than educated.

In conclusion, I believe that crime can be deterred by detaining lawbreakers rather than educating them.