In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many countries in the world, small shops in city centers have to suffer from intense competition with large stores that are based in the suburb, therefore, many of those small businesses are threatened with bankrupcies. This leads to a number of consequences, involving a rise in car usage and limited access to large out-of-town for those without cars. In my point of view, its cons can totally overshadow its pros

On the one hand, this change in people’s shopping preference may encourage them to move to areas outside their town to live. Given the fact that modern cities are facing with overpopulation, entailing extreme pressure on the housing supply system. As a result, the development of out-of-town stores can be a great method to tackle this problem when people tend to settle down around these shops for convenience. In addition, this also improves the traffic situation in these towns as the more people flock to out-of-town areas, the less heavy the inner-town traffic congestion is.

On the other hand, the fact that out-of-town stores are increasing in popularity can bring a greater deal of shortcomings which do not only have certain detrimental affects to human health but also degrading one nation’s economy in a long term. In fact, the rising of people’s demand for long distance travel contributes to an increase of cars sold in this day and age. Thus, it leads to series of devastating consequences to the air quality and human health when more and more pollutants emitted from car engines, which heightens pollution levels in those places. Moreover, the fact that a host of small town-centre shops are going belly up also results in a higher unemployment rate, progressively causing a significant loss for the economy of any country

In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts have outlined the benefits as well as drawbacks of this issue. Since it adversely affects human physical well being and job opportunities, I believe that its disadvantages should be highly considered and taken into account