Some countries today have passed laws against smoking in public buildings such as office and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this.

Consider the possible argument on both side of these debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Most people agree that smoking in public areas should be banned to some extent. However, enforcing the law against this issue is a controversial tactic which appears to have a number of contradictory effects. We will consider both sides of the discussion in this essay.

On the one hand, those who support the banning of public smoking promote the idea that this may improve public health. They highlight the deteriorating effect of passive smoking on non-smokers who are exposing to serious health problems, like lung cancer or heart attack in public areas, such as offices and restaurants. Furthermore, opponents of public smoking claim that some vulnerable citizens especially those who suffer from respiratory problems, like asthma, should be protected against passive smoking in public amenities. They point to the evidence from countries, such as Sweden, where this appears to be the case, and urge other nations to follow suit. To the supporters of the idea, these benefits are convincing.

On the other hand, proponents of public smoking highlight the contribution of the tobacco industry to countries’ economy. They claim that banning smoking in public may adversely affect the financial revenue of this trade and lead to unemployment, economic recession and other economic side-effects. They also refer to evidence from other countries, like China and India, where publicly using this commodity has improved their economy. Moreover, critics of banning public smoking also point to personal freedoms that everyone should have in our democratic society. They insist that if governments enforced law against public smoking, people would be restricted and this may lead to social dissatisfaction and both political and financial instability in societies. This argument also appears to be powerful.

In conclusion, I would tend to side with proponents of banning public smoking. Not only does it seem to be much more beneficial to the health of people from all walks of life, but it is also protected city dwellers who suffer from respiratory problems. It would be more logical to develop more healthy trades and create smoking-free areas in public to enhance social health.