In some cultures, the old age is more valued while in some cultures youth is more valued.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a debatable issue whether the later years of life are more valuable or the young age. In my opinion, since youth is a period for attaining goals, I consider it to be a more precious stage in an individuals life.

On the one hand, during the old age, people have more leisure time, which enables them to perform the desirable activities. In other words, they spend most of the life while working for fulfilling the responsibilities toward the families, such as providing good education and lifestyle to children, and for this pursuit, they often sacrifice their own preferences. However, after the retirement they can enjoy playing favourite games, watching movies, devoting time for hobbies and visiting relatives, leading to complacency. Conversely, I disagree with this view because old people often confront with various health problems owing to which it becomes difficult for them to indulge in all the above-mentioned activities.

On the other hand, youth provides opportunities to achieve the ambitions, which makes people independent as well as confident. To illustrate, youngsters are energetic and enthusiastic, and they effectively prove their mettle and propensity by working hard, which enables them to stabilize in the professional the professional life. As a result, they become the respectable member of the society. For instance, a survey conducted by the University of Texas on two thousand senior citizens in America reveals that 79% of them consider the young age more important because during this period they established their identity.

To conclude, while people have different opinions, I personally believe that the young age is an indispensable stage of life because people can fulfil their dreams by making more efforts and overcoming the impediments during this time.