Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Some employers or managers want to be able to keep in touch with their employees or junior colleagues at all time even in the out of working hours. I believe that the drawbacks of this trend are far outweighed advantages for both an employer and an employee.

In the aspect of an employee, it would be really annoying to receive text, phone call, or email from their bosses regardless of that they are on holiday, enjoying a meal with family or about to go to bed. Majority workers, I believe, want their off-hour to be guaranteed free and not disturbed by any working-related contacts. For example, imagine that you finally escape from tons of work and enjoy your holiday at the tropical island. One business call from the company would destroy your hard-earned vacation. Furthermore, employees need to maintain their working performance sharply which constantly consumes a large amount of mental energy, because they have no idea when their boss would contact them about discussing a business. This would lead them to full of exhaustion, stress or perhaps a serious mental illness like depression.

Apart from that, there are various disadvantages for employers as well. First, employees are highly likely to lose their motivation and ambition toward their own goal in work by reasons mentioned above, eventually affecting the whole department with a negative atmosphere. As a result, the company's profits would be worse. Second, it would be also stressful for employers to contact their staff in the off-hour. It seems to be a lot of burdens to them that they would feel guilty and hesitation to disturb the staff's free time and listen to annoying voices through the phone. Finally, some employees may consider it an invasion of privacy, as I sometimes feel the same way, and even sue employers. If you would like to contact your employees out of the working hour, you should be aware of that.

In conclusion, although there are exceptions that some professions like an emergency doctor or a paramedic that required to be able to contact staff all times for inevitable reasons, I believe it will harm both employers and employees in most cases.