In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

These days, technological advancements brought us agricultural prosperity, but many in the world still suffer from starvation. While I believe that there are certain reasons for this situation, various measures can be taken to solve the problem.

It is quite obvious why many people around the world are still hungry. One reason would be that those advances made in agriculture are mainly focused on a few countries. For instance, United State, one of the most developed nation, have the latest technologies, such as genetically modified crops or heavy machines as well as blessed fertile lands. Whereas countries in Africa still harvest with bare hands and livestock on the very dry land where crops are hardly grown. In addition, countries in the abundance of food often neglect and be negative to help those poor countries because there are no benefits for them. Another meaning is that unless the country suffering from starvation has something worth to trade, such as oil, natural resources or specialties, it will be hard to expect any assistance from wealthy countries.

However, there are various solutions we can try. First, we can just leave them to die even if it sounds obviously cruel and against humanity. However, consider the natural selection; weak species naturally die out which is a key mechanism for the prosperity of the rest of lives, and I believe that this could be the case to apply. Second, we can support hungry people by dragging global support. To do that, we can emotionally appeal to leaders and public opinion of rich countries that how painful to be hungry while food waste is the main issue for some countries. Finally, technological support can be provided to those poor countries, so that they will be self-sufficient in producing food.

In conclusion, it is too shameful that there are still many people suffering from hunger. although there are main causes of this problem, I believe that we can still solve it by either to ignore the matter or help them by taking the actions mentioned above.