Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

In this technological and competitive era, employers prefer to always keep in touch with their employees even regardless of their vacation period. This development has some positive and some negative impacts on the employees, which cannot be undermined.

Undoubtedly, there are few advantages of maintaining a connection with workers during their off-time. Primarily, during emergency employers can contact the employee to fix the situation. As employees are valuable assets for a firm, their overtime work can sometimes combat with the downfall of the company, which results in increased productivity. For instance, in the medical field, the junior staff such as nurses can be contacted anytime for an urgent operation at a hospital or to aid any patient with the help of the senior doctor staff, even during their vocational period. This eventually not only improves the rating of the hospital for their hardworking staff but also enhances the relationship between employee and employer. The regular discussion on the work improves the understanding among them and also helps in the retention of the employee. Therefore, the benefits of the afore-mentioned practice cannot be neglected.

On the flip side, the first and foremost disadvantage is it is the breaching of their privacy if they are forced to do work at home. In other words, they cannot balance their work-life and personal life appropriately, due to the work-related responsibilities even after their regular working hours. Secondly, the continuous stress of the workplace given by their boss will decrease their efficiency as well as health, which ultimately leads to poor performance. The workers will not be able to make fruitful relations with family and loved ones that will subsequently devastate their life. Hence, it does not prove to be beneficial for employees.

To conclude, however, there are some of the advantages for business, even though, the disadvantages of this practice overshadow the advantages. Therefore, workers must finish their work at the workplace instead of taking it home and make a work-life balance.