Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Some people have work schedules which ask for 24/7 performance. Such work cultures will do more harm than good. I believe that work and leisure time should be balanced appropriately for a better life.

Firstly, jobs which do not have off time, subsequently result in no free time for personal matters. One with family might find themselves in a dilemma whether to continue on the job or be with family. Also, employees feel drained out to such an extent that may lead to serious family problems like divorce and not having children. This can progressively lead to disliking the job hence leading to poor job performance.

Secondly, those who work on jobs for long periods may develop depression because they have to stay away from their personal life for extended periods. Unhealthy eating habits can also spring up due to lack of sufficient time for cooking meals, which, in turn, develop health problems. People working in the marketing sector often eat out making them more vulnerable to lifestyle diseases.

Finally, such employees lack motivation to work and often start searching for new jobs. Jobs which offer less working hours and more personal benefits will be on top priority. Excellent job offers may be denied due to this reason. One might find themselves in financial and mental agony, as a result. Rejecting job opportunities in the field of experience and seeking offers in new domains can invite trouble.

To conclude, few people work on their jobs all the time without leaves. Work and free time should be equally weighted in order to have a pleasant life. Working all the time without leaves will cause harmful effects.