Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

The concept of working is often restricted to a transaction of service between an employer and employee. Employees are often paid by the number of hours they pay weekly in different parts of the world. However, the concept stated in the essay prompt here as to the requirement that many employers want to keep in touch with employees even outside the working hours, for example, when the employee is on a tour, is a little extreme to the argument that employees are not being paid for outside work hours. However, since the word 'contact' is used, it is likely that the employer might inform the employee either via email or telephone about the happenings of the company.

First of all, I think that bother employees during off-season or outside office is likely to increase the overall stress on the employees. This action may lead to frustration among the employees who might then concentrate less during office hours. This is because humans want to have the freedom to pursue what they want outside working hours. However, if the means of communication is restricted to email and employees might be paid for those hours they spent doing work, then this might be more mutually beneficial. This will enable the employer to tackle extra work and employee to keep updated with the work happening. For example, many employees nowadays get the benefit of working from home as an alternate to coming to work.

However, on some occasions, it is important to be able to contact an employee especially during difficult times at work on in case of an emergency. For example, hospitals need to be able to contact their staff in case of patient emergencies, trauma and calamities. This may help save a life or many lives. In times of troubleshooting certain tasks, a phone call or email may save a presentation, project or win a deal for an organization). Certain organizations, call centers for instance, need their staff on-call throughout the year. Any failure to do so may lead to loss of business and revenue.

In conclusion, contacting an employee may prove fruitful in certain situations, it may have a bearing on employee happiness and health. It could even lead to attrition.