Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the highly controversial issue today relates to whether to begin learning a foreign language at primary school or at secondary school. This essay will further discuss whether extending foreign language study to the primary stages is beneficial and if disadvantages may occur in the later stages.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of practicing foreign language at primary school considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that the children have the golden age period when they are at elementary school. One good illustration of this is some developed countries have been implementing the bilingual language in the primary school’s curriculum for decades, and most of children can speak the second language as well as their native language. Another reason is that children are much more enthusiastic to explore and to learn new things at a young age. The timetable for them should allow more frequent shorter sessions for maintaining learner’s enthusiasm and progress.

Opponents reckon that the students at secondary school are better prepared than at primary school for acquiring new language. However, there is actually no evidence to support this view and children at their early ages (ranging from 5 to 10) can even learn faster and are better at pronunciation. For example, my second daughter has started to learn English since she was five years old and can speak English more fluently compared to her older sister who just learnt English when she attended secondary school.

In my opinion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that learning second language in earlier age period will have more positive impact on most of the children around the world.