*Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events and hosting them. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.To what extent do you agree or disagree?*

Needless to say that sports plays a major role in overall development and well-being of an individual. At the same time the international sporting events provides a platform to individuals so that they step-up and display their talent in front of whole world. I would partially agree with the statement as the need is to have a balance of money being spent of both sporting events or on general public.The essay would examine more facts.

The international sporting events also help in boosting country's economy, as it generates the direct and indirect jobs. Tourists and sports enthusiasts travel from multiple locations and countries to witness such a gala event. Hence to facilitate such a huge event and massive gathering, government creates necessary infrastructure in terms of roads, hotels and public transport. Moreover, the sporting events also generate a lot of revenue from TV and satellite rights, which is a form of earning for government.

The general public expects better infrastructure, better roads, work opportunities and good lifestyle, for which government spends money anyway. The sporting events also motivate younger generation to take up sports by featuring their favorite and local sports star, which ultimately is one of the building block of a healthier nation.

However, a country must not be spending money on training individuals and on sporting events extravagantly, especially at a cost of welfare of general public. If the citizens are unable to meet their physiological and other basic needs, country must be focusing on that. That must be foremost priority for any country. To conclude, i would say that its commendable for governments to spend money to promote sports and train the athletes on its own cost, while taking all factors in consideration and not to go overboard with it.