Some governments spend a lot of public money training up individuals to be successful in international sporting events Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead To what extent do you agree o

Government funding on sports has helped its country to be successful in global competitions, however many believe that the funds could be better utilized on common goals. I personally disagree with this statement.

Firstly, a country gains recognition through sports. Sports is one of the ways a country competes with another, thus participating in international games and winning them brings global recognition to a country, hence it is important for a government to produce talented individuals through training and providing facilities. Moreover, a government's spending on sports encourages a fair opportunity for individuals of different economic classes producing hidden gems. A good example would be the creation of the most prolific football player; Messi who was from a poor background but was able to become one of the best footballers in the world because of the government’s investment on sports and facilities which gave Messi an opportunity to follow the path of football.

Secondly, a government’s spending is not always an expense to the country, in contrast it could bring in more money. Incubating talents and letting them compete at national level would also mean that a country could also make profit by hosting games. Hosting competitions such as Football, Rugby and Cricket brings in a large amount of sponsorships, advertisements and tourism into a country, which could help the local economy. Moreover over exporting players to other countries to join football clubs brings in steady foreign income into a country.

In conclusion, it is clear that investment into sports is not in vain, it brings out talented individuals, lets a country compete at national level and more importantly has an impact on the revenue stream. Although there are other sectors which may benefit from extra funds, doing so at the expense of cutting-off investment into sports is not acceptable.