Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant s criminal record This protects the person who is being accused of the crime Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and

A jury's responsibility is to punish offender and protecting the innocent. Laws restricting the access to information of a defendant's previous offenses, is often debated by lawyers. In my personal opinion, any previous records of a defendant should be made available to the jury, as it could help with making a effective judgment and punishment; with the only exception for crimes committed as a minor.

While evidence is the major contributing factor to a judgment of crime, previous criminal records will assist the judge to make the correct decision when there is a lack of it. Moreover, previous criminal records will indicate any repeated offenses thus the judge could provide a harsher sentencing, or in the case of first time offense, defendant could receive some empathy. Hence, data on past actions could help make better judgment.

However, I also believe it is a good idea to restrict any records of crime committed by the defendant as a minor. Lack of understanding Crimes committed as a child should not in anyway mislead the jury or worst reveal sensitive information which may harm the future of a person, if a defendant is in fact proven to be innocent.

In conclusion, In my opinion laws should not prohibit a jury should from accessing any past records of a defendant but with only expectation of crimes committed before the age of 16, in-order to ensure justice is served.