It is a good idea for people to continue working beyond retirement age. Do you agree or disagree?

Whilst some people save all their desires and plans to be done after their retirement, other people wants to continue working as a freelancer or part time employee even after their retirement. In my opinion, I believe that people who wants to carry on working even after retirement should have the opportunity to.

To begin, having an employment gives a sense of purpose in an individual’s life. People often find themselves in depression after retirement, because they lose their sense of purpose. They do not feel motivated to enjoy their life without any work. After working for 35-40 years continuously, a retirement makes them feel isolated and secluded. So, if an individual for the sake of motivation and aim, wants to keep going on in their work and want to retire at a later age, they should be allowed to do so. No one should be forced to leave work just because they reached a certain age, unless they decided on the retirement themselves.

Moreover, there are people who could not save up enough money throughout their lifetime of work for various reasons. Without any savings and backup, if they are forced to leave their work because of their retirement age, they will find themselves in an ill-fated situation. For instance, a service holder who had to spend a huge amount of resource behind the treatment of his son who suffered from a life-threatening disease will find himself with no savings when he reach the retirement age. And if he is forced out of work because of his age, he will be in a dire situation. Therefore, if someone wants to keep working due to his needs and his health allows him to, then he should be given the opportunity to continue his work.

However, I believe that sometimes, physical health does not permit a person to work beyond the retirement age. In that case, it is not a good idea for anyone to work beyond their capability. Because health always comes first. One should retire for the sake of taking care of one’s health.

To conclude, people who enjoys their work and finds a sense of purpose in their work should be given the chance to continue their work after retirement age. Also, people who find themselves in difficult situations with an insufficient saving and have the ability to continue their employment should also be allowed to do so.