It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

It is not uncommon among parents or teachers to resort to extreme punishment when a child deviates to the wrong path. The given prompt also suggests that punishment will teach children about the differences between right and wrong from their childhood. However, I do not agree with this opinion mainly for one reason which I will be discussing in the essay. And I will also discuss about what punishments are appropriate for teaching them the difference between good and bad.

Strict Punishment and putting restraints on a child without explaining the differences between right and wrong will not help them understand the consequences of wrong behavior or mistakes. It will not only increase frustration in the child as he will not be aware of why a certain activity is wrong or why he was punished for it. Rather, when the child grows up to be an independent person, he will feel that he is now free to make any decisions that his parents and teachers put a restriction on without realizing its consequences.

Instead of aimlessly admonishing children, if adults teach them to take responsibilities of their own actions, it will help the children more to learn good behavior and avoid repeating mistakes. For instance, if a child breaks a vase in the fit of anger, he should be made to understand the value of the vase and if he were to given chores by his parents till he could make up the cost of the vase, the child will better understand the value of the vase and how hard work went behind buying the vase. And next time, he will understand that destruction in the fit of anger will not bring any good.

To conclude, punishing and rebuking children aimlessly for their mistakes will not teach them to distinguish between right and wrong. Rather, explaining to them why a certain behavior is considered wrong will effectively teach them about good behavior.