Some people are born to be leaders, while others believe leadership can be learnt.

Discuss both views and give opinion.

Nowadays, leadership is an indispensable skill that help individuals achieve success. While some people reckon that this quality is achievable through training, I hold the view that it is rather innate.

Advocates of the idea that leadership is learnt believe that leadership is the combination of various skills and techniques which can be acquired through personal effort and training. Through series of hands-on activities and experience sharing sessions, professional programs would therefore provide learners with essential knowledge of different components of leadership. To illustrate, many management training programs, whose aim is to discover and nurture prospective leaders, have been organized by multinational corporations every year. Many fresh graduates enrolled in these programs, despite their initial dearth of management knowledge and skills, have been subsequently promoted to managerial positions later on in their career path. This has undoubtedly exemplified the perception that leaders can be trained.

Meanwhile, I strongly believe that leaders are inherited. Though leadership knowledge is of great importance, it is the natural quality and the distinctive capability of an individual that makes them an extraordinary leader. In fact, there is quite a number of terrific leaders who have not received any proper education in leadership. In the realm of technology, for instance, Bill Gates has successfully built up his own regime with his personal intuitions and visions in a unique way that has never been taught or mentioned in textbook or courses. Another example, Hitler, the notorious dictator, was not specialized leadership and yet, he was still be able to lead a troop of thousands of soldiers and conquered many continents during his time.

In conclusion, it is true that leadership constitutes a quite spectrum of different skills and therefore, one can be trained to become a leader. However, the inherent capability is the instrumental factor which distinguishes an ordinary leader with an outstanding one.