It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

History is considered as an essential part of curriculum in many schools, because of many benefits that are associated with this course. Whether local history should be the first priority of foreign history, is became a frequent subject of debate. While many people believe in higher importance of local history, in my idea, the international history is as important as domestic history, and student should place enough emphasis on both of them.

First of all, there is no doubt that learning about our ancestors and our previous generation play a vital role in upbringing young generations, helping them to raise their knowledge and broaden their horizons. These advantages would be doubled if the history course covered both domestic and international events. Imagine those students who live in less-developed countries studying about the industrial revolution in European countries, how much either new ideas or incentives are provide with them. Secondly, as we are living in a global village, learning about traditions, values, and legacy of not only the people of our country but also other nations, make a significant contribution to promoting a sense of cohesion among citizens of a variety of cultures. This situation might result in more cooperation and multinational events. For example, those international historical celebrities which are held among neighbors countries, to relive their common values.

Admittedly, it is true to say that domestic history may be more important than other nation’s one, but if we take the view that students are able to benefit from studying widespread history , it is logical to suggest both internal and external history are same as each other in terms of importance.

In conclusion, from my personal viewpoint, the role that both domestic and foreign history play in widen students' horizons is hard to be ignored and both of them should be received equal attention.